Purity and Despair (1998)

Purity and Despair (2020 Remaster)

This is the 10th Elegant Simplicity album and the first all-instrumental release since ‘Natural Instinct’. Initial quantities were available as a limited edition full-colour picture disc.

Fantastic artwork throughout the 8-page booklet, which is in full colour. Each page features a collection of themed images which represent the mood of the relevant song.

From the piano and strings intro to the all-out heavy rock of the title track, this album fuses progressive rock, folk, jazz and orchestral themes into an album of rare depth and beauty. Highly original in approach and execution, the album overflows with melody and invention.

Release Info

LabelCat NoRelease DateFormatStatus
Proximity RecordsESCD 10March 1998CDSold Out
Proximity Records ESDD 10DigitalBuy
Proximity Records ESDD20191129Feb 21st 2020DigitalBuy


  1. When Darkness Falls (13.50)
  2. The Quantum Of Solace (14.12)
  3. Tranquillity and Drift (19.40)
  4. Aching Desire (12.00)
  5. Purity and Despair (7.48)

Line Up

Steven McCabe Acoustic and Electric Guitars, Guitar-Synth, Organ, Piano, Mellotron, Synthesisers, Flute, Mandolin, Samples & Effects
Peter DouglasAcoustic and Electric Drums, Percussion and Assorted Noises
Gilbert Ross Fretted and Fretless Bass Guitars

Purity and Despair

This is the original artwork for the album, as released way back in 1998

ES Logo

We don’t spam! Read our privacy policy for more info.